Scottish Crime Book of the Year

The Scottish Crime Book of the Year award has been created by Bloody Scotland, the first international crime writing festival from north of the border.

The festival has attracted some big names, including Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, Christopher Brookmyre and Anne Perry. Full details of events are on the festival website, together with ticket information.

The Award seeks to recognise and reward excellence in Scottish crime writing. Books must be by writers born in Scotland, by writers living in Scotland, or set in Scotland to be eligible for the £3,000 prize.

The winner will be announced at the festival, which runs from September 14th – 16th in Stirling.

The shortlist in full:
A Foreign Country by Charles Cumming
Redemption by Will Jordan
The Prague Fatale by Philip Kerr
The Lewis Man by Peter May
Gods and Beasts by Denise Mina
Dead Men and Broken Hearts by Craig Russell

Reserve online, and collect from your nearest library.