Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse prize for comic fiction

Gloucestershire Old Spot

The winner of this prize for comic fiction is traditionally presented with a locally-bred Gloucestershire Old Spot pig named after their winning title!

I would prefer to win bottles of Bollinger 🙂

Picture by Robert Dowling/Corbis

The winning book has to best “capture the comic spirit of  P G Wodehouse”. The shortlist is:

Zoo Time by Howard Jacobson (Bloomsbury)
Skios by Michael Frayn (Faber & Faber)
England’s Lane by Joseph Connolly (Quercus)
Heartbreak Hotel by Deborah Moggach (Chatto & Windus)
Lightning Rods by Helen DeWitt (And Other Stories)

 Michael Frayn’s book ‘Skios’, is a mistaken identity farce set on a Greek island, was described in the Financial Times as akin to “something Wodehouse might have written if Blandings Castle had been perched on the edge of the Aegean”.   Frayn has won the award before, as has Howard Jacobson.  His book Zoo Time is about a writer tormented by his feelings for his wife and mother-in-law, as well as the state of literature. Joseph Connolly is shortlisted for England’s Lane, about the lives of three married couples in the winter of 1959, Deborah Moggach for Heartbreak Hotel, in which Russell “Buffy” Buffery sets up the money-making wheeze “Courses for Divorces”, and Helen DeWitt for Lightning Rods, which follows a failing salesman’s plans to stamp out sexual harassment at work.

 The judging panel is Everyman publisher David Campbell , broadcaster and author Jim Naughtie and Hay festival director Peter Florence.

 The winner of the prize will be announced in late May.  Terry Pratchett’s Snuff won it last year. Here’s a link to his photo with his pig which is amazing.