Samuel Johnson prize winners announced tonight

image-mediumThe Samuel Johnson Prize winner will be announced tonight.

It’s Britain’s leading prize for non-fiction and there are six titles in the running for the prestigious £20,000 prize.

Some of the 18 long list titles which were tipped to win the prize, such as Simon Schama’s The Story of the Jews, Andrew Solomon’s Far From the Tree and Michael Burleigh’s Small Wars, Far Away Places, did not, in the end, make the final cut.

These are the ones that did-

Margaret Thatcher: The Authorised Biography, Volume One: Not for Turning by Charles Moore

The judges include Martin Rees, Astronomer Royal and chair of the judges; Mary Beard, the classical historian and television presenter; Shami Chakrabarti, the director of the civil-rights organisation, Liberty; the historian, Peter Hennessy; and the writer and non-fiction reviewer, James McConnachie.

Rees has said: “On the shortlist are six titles: they are very different, but each has enlightened and entertained the judges. The authors have conveyed specialised (and in some cases unfamiliar) subjects in a refreshing and readable way, revealing new perspectives. These finely written, highly accessible and stimulating books all deserve a wide readership.”

 Into the Silence: The Great War, Mallory and the Conquest of Everest by Wade Davis won it last year


Make a Comment, Review a Book

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s