British Sports Book awards

Cecil: Trainer of GeniusThe winners have been announced for all the categories of British Sports Book of the Year. The shortlists can be found here

Former tennis ace, Jimmy Connors, won the Autobiography/Biography of the Year category with his hard-hitting autobiography, THE OUTSIDER

Brough Scott –HENRY CECIL: TRAINER OF GENIUS,  won the Horse Racing Book of the Year

THE GREAT TAMASHA, James Astill’s account of cricket and corruption in modern India, won the Cricket Book of the Year.

Simon Halliday on Rugby Book of the Year for his candid autobiography, CITY CENTRE.  The Outstanding Sports Writing Award went to Harriet Tuckey for EVEREST: THE FIRST ASCENT, about her father, Griffith Pugh; while the New Writer of the Year award was won by Tim Lewis for his inspiring story of the Rwandan cycling team.  

Michael Calvin’s THE NOWHERE MEN, which looks at the world of footballs’ talent spotters, won the Football Book of the Year and also the overall winner of the year category.