Håkan Nesser, godfather of Swedish crime

The G fileAre you a Scandanavian crime fan looking for a new series to read? This might be for you. There are 10 novels in all, see below, and Swedish author Hakan Nesser (he’s won the best Swedish crime novel award three times and gets a lot of good ratings from Leeds readers) has just published the final exciting instalment in the Inspector Van Veeteren series, called  The G File

In the early novels Van Veeteren is a detective and in the later ones he becomes the owner of an antique books shop. Set in a fictitious city called Maardam, which is located in an unnamed northern Europe country – shades of Sweden, the Netherlands, Poland and Germany – the names in it are mainly Dutch

About the G File It’s 1987. Verlangan, a former cop turned private detective is hired by a woman to follow her husband Jaan ‘G’ Hennan. A few days later, his client is found dead at the Woman with birthmarkbottom of an empty swimming pool . . . Maardam police, led by Chief Inspector Van Veeteren, investigate the case. Van Veeteren has encountered Jaan ‘G’ Hennan before and knows only too well the man’s dark capabilities. As more information emerges about G’s shadowy past, the Chief Inspector becomes more desperate than ever to convict him. Yet G has a solid alibi – and no one else can be found in relation to the crime . . . 2002.

Fifteen years have passed and The G File remains the one case former Chief Inspector Van Veeteren has never been able to solve. When Verlangan’s daughter reports the private detective missing, Van Veeteren returns to Maardam CID once more. For all Verlangan left behind was a cryptic note; and a telephone message in which he claimed to have finally discovered the proof of G’s murderous past


1. The Mind’s Eye 
2. Borkmann’s Point 
3. The Return 
4. Woman with Birthmark 
5. The Inspector and Silence 
6. The Unlucky Lottery 
7. Hour of the Wolf 
8. The Weeping Girl 
9. The Strangler’s Honeymoon 
10. The G File