T S Eliot prize shortlist announced

Marking the 50th anniversary of T S Eliot’s death on 4 January 2015, the poet’s estate has increased the value of the prize this year by £5,000 to £20,000. We don’t have all the collections, please reserve them if you would like them.

The winner of the award will be announced on 12 January. Last year, the prize was won by Sinéad Morrissey for her collection Parallax. We featured one of her poems, Through the Square Window  as last week’s poem of the week. 

The award has been won in the past by names including Carol Ann Duffy, Seamus Heaney and Derek Walcott. It’s been running since 1993.

Bright Travellers by Fiona Benson 

All One Breath by John Burnside

The Stairwell by Michael Longley

Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting by Kevin Powers

Fire Songs by David Harsent

Learning to Make an Oud in Nazareth by Ruth Padel 

Fauverie by Pascale Petit

When God is a Traveller by Arundhathi Subramaniam

I Knew the Bride by Hugo Williams

Faithful and Virtuous Night by Louise Glück