Congratulations @nathanfiler The Shock of the Fall wins again @The WritersGuild

The shock of the fallNathan Filer  has won the Writers’ Guild Award for Best First Novel for his debut The Shock of the Fall. He beat other shortlisted authors Eimear McBride for A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing and Tim Glencross for Barbarians. That’s in addition to winning the Costa Book of the Year and the Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year

The Shock of the Fall is ‘an extraordinary portrait of one man’s journey through the spinning vortex that is mental illness. It is a brave and ground breaking novel from one of the most exciting new voices in fiction.’

The Writers’ Guild Awards 2014 were sponsored by BBC Writersroom, BBC Worldwide, ITV Studios and the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS).


Make a Comment, Review a Book

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s