Catherine Aird – winner of the Diamond Dagger for crime writing

Dead headingHave you read any Catherine Aird? She’s won this year’s prestigious Diamond Dagger award for crime writing, following in the footsteps of luminaries such as Simon Brett, P.D James, Lee Child and Frederick Forsyth.

The winner of the Diamond Dagger is chosen from a shortlist of authors nominated by the Crime Writers Association members. It features writers judged worthy by their peers and they must meet two essential criteria-  their careers must be marked by sustained excellence, and they must have made a significant contribution to crime fiction published in the English language, whether originally or in translation. The award is made purely on merit without reference to age, gender or nationality.

Catherine Aird’s career spans over six decades and she’s written over twenty novels, including the popular Chronicles of Calleshire.

Despite being such a prolific and popular author, Catherine was still surprised to discover she was to be presented the highest honour in the crime writing genre. “It feels very nice indeed, I can assure you! I am absolutely delighted. I’m so glad to be part of such a happy group as the CWA and we do all tend to read each other’s work. I think I’ve enjoyed writing my books probably more than my readers have enjoyed reading them.”

The Diamond Dagger will be presented to Catherine at the Hotel Russell in London on 30th June 2015.

Specsavers Crime Thriller award winners 2014

This dark road to mercyRobert Harris and Peter May were among the winners at the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2014 announced Friday 24th October at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel.

Harris won the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for Best Thriller of the Year, for An Officer and a Spy and was also inducted into the Crime Thriller Awards Hall of Fame. Peter May won the Crime Thriller Book Club Best Read of the Year for Entry Island (gets a big thumbs up from Leeds readers) chosen by a group of independent publishing experts from the Awards Academy, from a shortlist of six crime reads featured throughout the Crime Thriller Club Series on ITV3.

Meanwhile Ray Celestin won the CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger for Best New Crime Writer of the Year for The Axeman’s Jazz and while Wiley Cash won the CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel of the Year for This Dark Road to Mercy

Also inducted into the Hall of Fame was novelist Denise Mina, as was ITV television programme “Midsomer Murders”.


The Dagger in the Library Award @Daggerinthelib- vote for your favourite

The Crime Writer’s Association (CWA) 2014 Dagger in the Library Award offers the chance for readers to nominate their favourite British crime fiction authors for this prestigious award.

The Dagger in the Library award is given in honour of an author’s entire collection of work to date rather than one specific book. Previous winners include Belinda Bauer, Steve Mosby and Stuart MacBride.

Voters will automatically be entered into a prize draw to win £200 worth of crime books!

Nominations close on 1st September 2014, so make sure you nominate up to three of your favourites.

CWA International Daggers award longlist

Do you like Eurocrime? Here’s all the nominations for the Crime Writers’ Association International Dagger Award, with some great titles, at least 10 of which have been rated 5 star by Leeds readers who’ve read them. Click through to the catalogue for more information.


  1. Dog Will Have His Day by Fred Vargas 
  2. Forty Days Without Shadow by Olivier Truc  
  3. Irène by Pierre Lemaitre  5*
  4. Plan D by Simon Urban 
  5. Strange Shores by Arnaldur Indridason 
  6. The Siege by Arturo Perez_Reverte
5* Rated by Leeds readers


 A Crack in the Wall by Claudia Piñeiro  

Brother Kemal by Jakob Arjouni  

Buried Angels by Camilla Lackberg  

Cold Courage by Pekka Hiltunen 

Cold Hearts by Gunnar Staalesen  

Death in Florence by Marco Vichi  

Death in Pont-Aven by Jean-Luc Bannalec  

Death of a Demon by Anne Holt  

Death of a Nightingale by Lene Kaaberbol, Agnete Friis  

Decompression by Juli Zeh  

Evil and the Mask by Fuminori Nakamura  

Five by Ursula Poznanski  

Game for Five by Marco Malvaldi  

Guilt by Jussi Adler-Olsen

Hotel Brasil by Frei Betto 

I Can See in the Dark by Karin Fossum 

Journey Under the Midnight Sun by Keigo Higashino  

Line Up by Liad Shoham

Mapuche by Caryl Ferey  

Redemption by Jussi Adler-Olsen  

Safe as Houses by Simone van der Vlugt  

Scarred by Thomas Enger 

Snow White Must Die by Nele Neuhaus  

Spring Tide by Cill and Rolf Borjlind  

Summertime, All the Cats Are Bored by Philippe Georget 

The Crocodile by Maurizio de Giovanni  

The Dark Angel by Dominique Sylvain

 The Dark Heart of Florence by Michele Giuttari  

The Double Silence by Mari Jungstedt 

The Fifth Season by Mons Kallentoft  

The Front Seat Passenger by Pascal Garnier  

The Frozen Dead by Bernard Minier  

The Good Suicides by Antonio Hill  

The Hanging by Lotte and Søren Hammer  

The Hunting Dogs by Jorn Lier Horst 

The Investigation by Lee-Jung Myung  

The Madonna on the Moon by Rolf Bauerfick  

The Second Deadly Sin by Åsa Larsson

The Silence of the Wave by Gianrico Carofiglio  

The Treasure Hunt by Andrea Camilleri  

The Watcher by Charlotte Link  

Three Dog Night by Elsebeth Egholm  

When The Dead Awaken by Steffen Jacobsen  

You’re Mine Now by Hans Koppel