#FF Poem of the Week

Into the Abyss by David Harsent, winner of the 2015 T S Eliot prize Night

A little deeper and she’ll lose the light. At first

the surface is just touchable – shadows that might be clouds

or birds in flight… She sets her face to the skim


to get the last of the world she came from, some slight

sense of voices fading as she slips

from almost-day to almost-night, grey-green shading


first to blue, then more than blue, then to a blue never seen

by anyone but her, and that slow drift into darkness set to sever

all that she owned or wanted, all she had ever been.


Read about David on his website


T S Eliot prize winner announced

David Harsent, currently professor of creative writing at the University of Roehampton, has won the TS Eliot Prize for poetry at the fifth attempt. He has been awarded the prestigious £20,000 award for his eleventh collection Fire Songs. It was his fifth nomination, dating back to 1998, but he had not previously won.

The TS Eliot Prize was launched in 1993 to celebrate the Poetry Book Society’s 40th birthday and to honour its founding poet. The prize money is donated by the TS Eliot estate and to mark the 50th anniversary of Eliot’s death on 4 January 2015, the winner’s award was increased from £15,000 to £20,000.

Chair of the judges Helen Dunmore described Harsent as “a poet for dark and dangerous days.  Fire Songs plumbs language and emotion with technical brilliance and prophetic power.”

A fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, Harsent was presented with his award at a ceremony at the Wallace Collection in London on Monday 12th January.

His previous collections include Legion, 2005, which won the Forward Prize for best collection, and 2011’s Night, shortlisted for the Costa, Forward and TS Eliot Prizes and won the Griffin International Poetry Prize.

Other 2015 nominees, chosen from 113 books submitted by publishers,  included former winners John Burnside and Michael Longley. The 10 shortlisted authors received £1,500 each.

The TS Eliot Prize 2014 shortlist:

Fiona Benson – Bright Travellers

John Burnside – All One Breath

Louise Gluck – Faithful and Virtuous Night

David Harsent – Fire Songs

Michael Longley – The Stairwell

Ruth Padel – Learning to Make an Oud in Nazareth

Pascale Petit – Fauverie

Kevin Powers – Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting

Arundhathi Subramaniam – When God is a Traveller

Hugo Williams – I Knew the Bride