The Kitschies announce their shortlists

The Way InnThe Kitschies are awarded to novels containing elements of the speculative and fantastic. Now in its sixth year, there are four categories and the winners receive a total of £2,500 in prize money, as well as one of the prize’s Tentacle trophies. The Kitschies’ 2014 finalists were selected from 198 submissions, from over 40 publishers and imprints. The winners will be announced on the 4th March.

The Golden Tentacle category for best debut-

This year a self-published novel – Becky Chambers’ The Long Way to a Small – has made the shortlist too.

The Red Tentacle award for best novel Lagoon

The Inky Tentacle award for cover art –

The final award is the Invisible Tentacle for natively digital fiction. The shortlist is made up of  Twitter fiction @echovirus12, curated by Jeff Noon (@jeffnoon), Ed (@3dgriffiths), James Knight (@badbadpoet), violet sprite (@gadgetgreen), Richard Biddle (@littledeaths68), Mina Polen (@polen), Uel Aramchek (@ThePatanoiac), Graham Walsh (@t_i_s_u), and Vapour Vox (@Wrong_Triangle); Kentucky Route Zero, Act III, by Cardboard Computer; 80 Days, by Inkle Studios; and Sailor’s Dream by Simogo.

Last week to enter ‘The Kitschies’

Ancillary justiceCould your debut novel win the Kitschies’?

The Kitschies reward the year’s most progressive, intelligent and entertaining works that contain elements of the speculative or fantastic.

Golden Tentacle

To enter the Golden Tentacle award, submit your work by 1st December. The award is in its sixth year and is awarded annually to the debut novel that best fits the criteria of ‘progressive, intelligent and entertaining’. Novels must be the author’s first published work of novel-length fiction in any genre. The prize is £500 and a hand-crafted trophy.

Last year’s winner was Ann Leckie for Ancillary Justice, which has been rated 5* in Leeds. A tale for the time being It tells the story of a warship trapped in a human body and her search for revenge. Ann Leckie also won the Arthur C. Clarke, the Nebula and the Hugo Award for Best Novel in the same year. Part of the ‘Imperial Radch’ series, we’ve just ordered ‘Ancillary Sword’

Red Tentacle

The Red Tentacle is awarded for the novel containing speculative or fantastic elements that best fulfils the criteria of intelligent, progressive and entertaining. The winner receives a £1,000 prize and a hand-crafted tentacle trophy. The previous winner was Ruth Ozeki for A Tale for the time being. ‘Ruth discovers a Hello Kitty lunchbox washed up on the shore of her beach home. Within it lies a diary that expresses the hopes and dreams of a young girl. She suspects it might have arrived on a drift of debris from the 2011 tsunami. With every turn of the page, she is sucked deeper into an enchanting mystery.’